What is the difference between FEMA designated zones A, AE, X (shaded), and X?

Zone A

Zone A is the section of Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA) where the 100-year water surface elevation has not been determined. Only a few small areas within the City of Garland are Zone A. Zone AE is the section of SFHA where the 100-year flood elevation has been determined, as well as a designated floodway. 

Zone X

Zone X (shaded) is an area inundated by the 0.20 annual chance flood, better known as the 500-year flood, with average depths of less than 1 foot or with drainage areas less than 1 square mile; and areas protected by levees from the 1 percent annual chance flood. Finally, Zone X (un-shaded) refers to areas outside the land inundated by the 0.20 annual chance flood event. It should be noted that some small creeks do not appear on the Flood Insurance Rate Maps.

Interested parties may contact the City of Garland Engineering Department to determine if flood plain information is available for these creeks.

Show All Answers

1. What is a 100-year floodplain?
2. What is a Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA)?
3. Am I required to carry flood insurance?
4. Is my home or business in the floodplain?
5. My mortgage company says my home or business is in the floodplain, but I disagree. What can be done to address this?
6. How do I obtain an Elevation Certificate?
7. When can I develop in the floodplain?
8. What is a Floodplain Development Permit?
9. What is the difference between FEMA designated zones A, AE, X (shaded), and X?
10. What is the floodway?
11. What is a LOMA, LOMR, LOMR-F, or CLOMR?